Meetings and Marmots

WOOF officer, Brandon, held some tutorials for Grawmet builders last week and the week before. (For background information on WOOF and the Grawmet see the About page.) I was planning to go even though I don’t have a kit yet so that I could be more prepared. I had  a lot of work these past two weeks though, and was lax about checking the WOOF blog. As a result I missed the tutorials. Oh well.

In the meantime, I thought I would also mention a side project that I am working on right now: Marmie & Co. Marmie is a felted wool Hoary Marmot that I made. He is about 4” long (including his tail) and stands about 1” high. I chose to do a Horay Marmot (as opposed to another species, such as a Yellow Bellied Marmot) because of the limited colors of wool I have. After Marmie was finished, I figured he could use some friends. Two other felted Hoary Marmots, Marmie II and Baby Marmie are almost finished.

IMG_4711

I first learned felting at Arts Umbrella in Bothell in 2010 or 2011. I picked it up very quickly, and was soon making various small furry animals. I enjoy it because it’s a pretty efficient way of making cute little animals, and it has a certain therapeutic quality to it…

Hoary Marmots (Marmota caligata) is a species of marmot that lives in the alpine slopes of western North America. It’s called the “hoary” marmot, because of the grizzled grey appearance of it’s fur. For more on Hoary Marmots, Wikipedia has a rather nice article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hoary_marmot

Leave a Reply

