Brainwave Adventures

A couple weeks ago I was taking my Grawmet home from UW on the bus, and the USB chord was still plugged into the Brainwave Board. (This is the the computer controller for my 3D printer.)  I accidentally bumped the cord, which acted as a lever and popped the micro USB port right off the board. I was most displeased about this, since it was going to be ether extremely expensive for me to replace (by poor college student standards) or extremely difficult to fix.

I took it into the WOOF room (the UW 3D printing club’s meeting space) yesterday to consult with other members about ways to fix it.  As it turned out, I never actually had to fix it because professor Ganter (he’s one of our club advisers) gave me a whole new board! I spent the afternoon soldering it together.

Figure 1. New, un-soldered Brainwave board.

Figure 1. New, un-soldered Brainwave board.

I did surface soldering for the first time, which was pretty fun. I put on some tiny 0Ω resisters that configure the stepping speed of the motors.

Figure 2. The finished, soldered board.

Figure 2. The finished, soldered board.

General take-aways: never leave the USB cord plugged in, and I am pretty decent at soldering.

Leave a Reply

