Job Hunting, Bird Box Science, and Coding Dojo

Merry Christmas!

Since graduating in June I’ve been on the job hunt. I went to Startup Weekend in October to network with people, which lead to the birth of a new project for me: Bird Box Science. Bird Box Science is a project where people with bird houses equipped with sensors contribute data to an online database and social networking community. It’s a great activity for kids and bird enthusiasts.

logo1-color

Being a bird enthusiast myself  I’ve had a lot of fun with it, especially when I got to go help make the Kickstarter video and I got to meet a live Barn Owl named Gus.

IMG_4917

We ended up taking first place at Startup Weekend, which was awesome! I totally wasn’t expecting that. Trying to find a job can be depressing at times, so seeing my work accomplish something was very encouraging.

Part of the prize from Started Weekend was a free seat in one of Coding Dojo‘s coding bootcamps.

I’ll be starting the bootcamp on January 5th, and will finish on March 27th. I’m excited to learn more about web development. Right now I’m really just a front end dev, but soon I will have full stack skills and be able to do way more cool things. The only thing I’m nervous about is driving around on not enough sleep…

 

 

Leave a Reply

